Heather Graham’s The Killing Edge

I have been reading author blogs frequently, and I read an entry recently (by whom, I cannot remember) that responded to a review of her book. She mentioned in the blog entry that as an author she really, really hated it when a reviewer gave away too much information and “ruined” it for future readers. I have a habit of giving a lot of summary that would certainly ruin any surprises if the book had mystery of any kind. I want to be mindful of that and stop. I don’t want to give away crucial details. So, I am going to try to review a book without ruining it for future readers!

I just finished Heather Graham’s The Killing Edge. I purchased the book from the Sony eReader Store. It is a romantic suspense, so I don’t want to tell you too much. So, I think I will start with the official promotional description:

Chloe Marin was lucky. She was just a teenager when a party at a Florida beachside mansion turned into a savage killing spree, and she was one of the few to survive. Bloody handwriting on the walls pointed to a cult whose rituals included human sacrifice. Chloe’s sketch of one of the killers linked two dead cult members found in the Everglades to the massacre, closing the case as far as the cops were concerned.

Ten years later Chloe works as a psychologist specializing in art therapy to help traumatized victims, and on the side she finds release in her passion for the martial arts. Police who hire her as a consultant know she’s a literal kick-ass advocate for victims who can’t always speak for themselves.
 
The current disappearance of a young swimsuit model ranks low on the cops’ priority list. Everyone assumes the girl has run off for some fun in the sun, instead of getting ready for a photo shoot. Everyone but Chloe, who suspects a killer is using the modeling agency to stalk his prey. When the ghost of the model appears, asking Chloe for help, she knows that she has to do everything she can.
 
So does Luke Cane, a British ex-cop-turned-P.I. investigating the disappearance of the model on behalf of her father. Chloe and Luke have trouble trusting each other, but they can’t help their strong attraction for one another. Luckily they agree on the important things: someone needs to find those missing girls, and if a few laws have to get bent so lives can be saved, too bad.
 
When Chloe arrives late for an appointment at the modeling agency, she discovers a gruesome mass murder eerily similar to the one she witnessed a decade ago—and can’t help thinking that if she hadn’t run late, she would have been there when the killer arrived. Ten years ago she hadn’t been convinced the police had identified the real killers, and now she’s sure of it. The same evil mind is behind the current murders, and she’s afraid she’s the target.
 
I never go wrong with a Heather Graham book! She keeps me interested on several levels: romance, mystery, and paranormal events. I greatly enjoyed Chloe and Luke’s story. Like most of her lead protagonists, Chloe is a strong female lead who is well-prepared for whatever life throws her. She doesn’t trust easy, for good reason, but she is ready to fall in love. Luke borders on that line between protector and overbearing, but he balances it well and is a likeable romantic interest for Chloe. He has enough tragedy of his own to relate to hers and to understand her. I don’t want to tell any more because I want you to read it. And, I will add that if you are a faithful reader of Graham, you will recognize a character or two (Adam Harrison makes an appearance). And if you like paranormal suspense / romantic suspense, this is a must read for you.
 
Visit Heather Graham’s website at http://www.theoriginalheathergraham.com/ for a list of her books.
 
Happy Reading!
2 Comments

Filed under Reading for Fun

2 responses to “Heather Graham’s The Killing Edge

  1. Another Heather Graham lover! I just love the paranormal suspense books she writes. I think that some are better than others, but I still enjoy them all.

  2. I think this was one of her better ones!

    Thanks for stopping by Kris. I have been visiting your site regularly for about two weeks now. I am just getting into blogging (kinda late, I know).

Leave a Reply

