Kim Harrison’s The Outlaw Demon Wails

As I said yesterday, The Outlaw Demon Wails is absolutely my favorite of the Hollows series by Kim Harrison. I purchased it at the same time as the previous book (For a Few Demons More) from the Sony eReader Bookstore. And, I almost didn’t read it. I’m very glad I did.

Product Description:  To save the lives of her friends, Rachel did the unthinkable: she willingly trafficked in forbidden demon magic. And now her sins are coming home to haunt her. 

As Rachel searches for the truth behind a terrifying murder, an even greater menace threatens, for the demon Algaliarept will stop at nothing to claim her, and the discovery of a shocking family secret throws Rachel’s entire life into question. If she is ever to live free, Rachel must first walk willingly into the demonic ever-after in search of long-lost ancient knowledge. 

But when you dance with demons, you lay your soul on the line . . . and there are some lines that should never be crossed.

Book 6 has a lot less whining and much more cowboy-ing up (to keep with the Clint Eastwood western movie theme of the titles) from Rachel, and that really appealed to me in a way the previous books had not. Rachel acts and has agency and makes decisions instead of being a victim of circumstances or a passive recipient of the universe’s aggression. She is feeling kicked and down and she is grieving, but she stands up and says this is who I am and this is what matters to me. I can expect no more from a hero.

I have really struggled with what to say in this post because I don’t want to “ruin” the book for you by providing too many details and spoilers. So, I will say that all of the previous characters and plot twists appear in this book. In this action packed, emotionally full, ass-kicking book, each character’s role in Rachel’s life is explored, explained, and expanded, and each character is more fully developed and complicated. Each (sub) plot from the previous books is addressed and connected to Rachel’s immediate life and concerns. For example, one of the most involved character developments and plot connections has to do with Rachel’s mother, who until this point had been basically dismissed as a bit flighty or crazy and unreliable. She is a vital and important part of Rachel’s life and her actions are explained to us in a mostly believable (shocking?) plot twist. She’s a great character (now), and I think you will like her.

If you have read any of this series at all, you have to read this one. I hope you are as intrigued by the gargoyle as I am.

Happy Reading!

Leave a comment

Filed under Reading for Fun, Urban Fantasy

Leave a Reply

