The Diva Cooks a Goose by Krista Davis

I had the pleasure this summer of reading the Domestic Diva series by Krista Davis after hearing about it at the Mystery Lovers’ Kitchen. The latest in this series was released just this month, and I picked it up immediately (for my Sony eReader). The Diva Cooks a Goose was a fun read in the cozy mystery genre.

The product description reads: A Scrooge steals presents right from under Sophie Winston’s family Christmas tree. Then her sister-in-law’s father show’s up with a diva girlfriend just a month after his separation. More than one person is thinking of committing a merry murder-until it actually happens! With many under suspicion for the deadly deed, can Sophie find the murderer and restore the Christmas spirit before it’s too late?

I enjoy reading about Sophie for several reasons. First, I love the way her family is always incorporated into the stories, with her parents coming to visit to her ex-husband living down the street. I like that she is not a single 20-something (just because that makes it a bit easier for me to relate to her). Second, I like that she is a bit more down to earth that the “domestic diva” title would suggest. In fact, Sophie is always contrasted against Natasha who is a domestic diva of the kind most of us run from. So, Sophie’s advice is more practical and useful. The holiday “tips” and recipes incorporated into the story were both fun and useful. Third, I like Sophie because she doesn’t do what I expect; she isn’t completely predictable. I like protagonists that keep me guessing. And, this story especially kept me guessing because the “whodunit” wasn’t easy to solve. I love mysteries that keep me guessing while still laying out enough clues that I think I should have figured it out. This one does that; this story gives many clues but still didn’t allow me to figure out the mystery too early. I appreciate that almost more than anything else in a cozy. This book was a winner for me!

To learn more about the series, visit the book’s website at http://divamysteries.com/Domestic_Diva_Mysteries/Goose.html. Recipes are included!

Unit next time,

Happy Reading!

2 Comments

Filed under Cozy Mystery, Reading for Fun

2 responses to “The Diva Cooks a Goose by Krista Davis

  1. escapingjourney

    Sounds like a good cozy series! I’ve heard of this one but haven’t started the series yet, I think I need to.

Leave a Reply

