Happy Birthday, Jane Austen

Today is the birth date of Jane Austen (1775-1817), one of the greatest literary writers of all time. All of her novels are on the 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die list.  To celebrate, pick up a copy of one of her books (most of which are available for free from Google Books or at Project Gutenberg

  • Mansfield Park (Book 65 on the 1001 Books List)
  • Lover’s Vows (play within MP)
  • Pride and Prejudice (Book 64 on the 1001 Books List)
  • Emma (Book 66 on the 1001 Books List)
  • Persuasion (Book 69 on the 1001 Books List)
  • Sense and Sensibility (Book 62 on the 1001 Books List)
  • Northanger Abbey (Book 70 on the 1001 Books List)

I am not sure if my favorite is Pride and Prejudice or Emma, honestly. I may have to reread them both! Until tomorrow, Happy Reading!

1 Comment

Filed under Literary Birthdays

One response to “Happy Birthday, Jane Austen

  1. Lisa E.

    I think my favorite is Pride and Prejudice, but that’s mostly because I’ve read it the most times. Once Santa brings me my kindle, I’ll have to download Emma and reread. If I can properly recall 16 year old me, that was my favorite when I first read them.

Leave a Reply

