Home for a Spell by Madelyn Alt

I finished Madelyn Alt’s latest in the Bewitching Mystery series, Home for a Spell, this weekend, and I have to say: I was disappointed.

Product Description: As the newest witch in Indiana, Maggie O’Neill already has plenty to deal with. So being hobbled by a broken leg doesn’t help. Neither does the fact that her best friend and upstairs neighbor is getting ready to tie the knot with her own boyfriend and move away. This leads Maggie to wonder if it isn’t time to find herself a new pad.

But when she finds a place, Maggie’s dream of new digs turns into a nightmare: the apartment manager is found dead before she can even sign the lease. And Maggie finds herself not only searching for a new home- but for a frightfully clever killer.

This book has no paranormal elements, despite the series title, book title, and description of Maggie as the newest witch. And while certainly there are allusions to supernatural happenings and forces, and the pretense of a home-finding spell, the paranormal elements of the previous novels in the series are left out of this one completely. Add that missing element to a slow, boring mystery, and this book doesn’t cut it for me. And, I love the previous ones in the series. My disappointment is great, and I feel badly just writing this review. I hope that Alt pulls out a winner next time or I am afraid this series will die. Maggie just wasn’t interesting this time around.

Happy Reading (of something else)!

1 Comment

Filed under Cozy Mystery, Reading for Fun

One response to “Home for a Spell by Madelyn Alt

  1. Sorry this one was such a disappointment! I only read the first two in the series, something about it just didn’t keep my interest.

Leave a Reply

