Don’t Cry by Beverly Barton

Don’t Cry by Beverly Barton was released August 17, 2010. It debuted #11 on the New York Times Bestsellers List, and it was the #1 Borders Single Title Paperback Romance Bestseller.

Product Description:

NOWHERE TO RUN
The crime scenes are horrifying: the victims arranged with deliberate care, posed to appear alive despite their agonized last moments and the shocking nature of their deaths.

NO PLACE TO HIDE
Chattanooga grief counselor Audrey Sherrod moonlights for the local police. It’s clear to her, and to Special Agent J.D. Cass, that the murders are the work of a deranged serial killer. At first, the only link is the victim’s similar physical appearance. But then another connection emerges, tying them to a long-ago series of horrifying crimes Audrey hoped would never resurface—crimes that hit all too close to home.

NO TIME TO CRY
Each grisly new discovery proves the past has not been forgotten, and the worst is yet to come. Audrey went looking for the truth and she is about to find it… and it will be more twisted and more terrifying than she ever imagined…

An excerpt is also available here on the author’s website. And, if you are a fan of mystery, this is one is pretty good. I noticed that it really had mixed reviews on Amazon, but I think I have figured out why. If one reads it as or expecting a romance, the romance isn’t very good. But, if a reader (like me) really prefers the mystery or “suspense” of the story, this is a winner. It was unclear to me whodunit until at least three-quarters of the way to the end, and then I still wasn’t sure. That is the kind of mystery I like. It was also interesting in that the case / mystery spanned many years and connected Audrey’s childhood to the current going ons. That connection made her a more sympathetic and believable character. Again, I didn’t find the romance compelling, but it wasn’t what I was looking for in the first place.

I think this may have been my first Barton book (I have only been keeping a list for the last three or so years so I know I haven’t read her in that time). I will add her to my author’s list and read more. I’m looking forward to it!

Happy Reading!

Leave a comment

Filed under Reading for Fun, Romantic Suspense

Leave a Reply

