Tressed to Kill by Lila Dare

Tressed to Kill is the first in the Southern Beauty Shop Mystery Series by Lila Dare. I learned about this series when I saw that a new book (Polished Off) was coming out for it this month on the Cozy Mystery Blog’s New Releases Post for February.

Product Description: St. Elizabeth, Georgia, offers charm, Southern hospitality-and, most recently, murder. When hairdresser Grace Terhune and her mother, Violetta, gussy up all the high-society ladies attending the town meeting, they find their snobbiest client dead. The police believe the mother-daughter duo did her in. But before things get snarled beyond repair, Grace sets out to clear their names.

 I liked this book much more than I anticipated. I know that I say this a lot, but I wasn’t sure what to expect, especially with the “southern” theme (Louisville is not in the south *smiles*), much less the hairdressing / beauty shop theme. I was pleasantly surprised to find a protagonist that is smart, funny, capable, and interesting. Grace Terhune doesn’t sit back and wait for things to happen, and she doesn’t feel the need to justify her actions all of the time. In addition, her supporting cast is as interesting and is very eclectic and diverse (in terms of age, race, and socio-economic status).  Even the older generation of women in this book are self sufficient and capable. I believe that this book offers at least one character to which all of us can relate. I think this series will be a hit; I didn’t even hesitate about buying the second book. I will review it (book 2 in this series, Polished Off) tomorrow.

Until then, Happy Reading!

1 Comment

Filed under Cozy Mystery, Reading for Fun

One response to “Tressed to Kill by Lila Dare

  1. So glad you enjoyed this one! I thought it was good too and am anxiously awaiting the time till I can read the 2nd.

Leave a Reply

