Heather Webber’s Cozies

When I was putting together my Witchy Chicks list, I realized that I had not blogged about Heather Webber. I first learned of Webber on the Cozy Mystery Blog. There, she is described with “Webber writes a cozy mystery series that features a landscaper who specializes in “surprise garden makeovers” but who is sometimes surprised by murders, which she solves, not commits!” that series, the Nina Quinn series, is pretty good. I like the “surprise makeovers” and I love the gardening theme. The books of the series are

  • A Hoe Lot of Trouble
  • Trouble in Spades
  • Digging up trouble
  • Trouble in Bloom
  • Weeding out Trouble.

To my knowledge, no new books have been published in this series since 2008.

I then began reading the Cozy Chicks blog (because I was a fan of Kate Collins and Lorna Barrett). On their blog, the cozy chicks offer an opportunity to get free bookmarks. I sent off for them, and they came back–many autographed. Webber’s was one I received, and I found out that she has another series, and it is about a psychic, which is of course right up my alley! (Webber has her own blog at http://www.heatherwebber.blogspot.com/, in addition to holding the “friday” spot on the cozychicks.)

The Lucy Valentine series has three books so far.

When psychic matchmaker Lucy Valentine is hired by a new client, she’s shocked to find he has a skeleton in his past–literally. (2010)

This first in the series is a great start; it has a mystery (which was way too easy to solve), love, and psychic abilities. I loved it.

                                                              The second in the series is described with:

The irrepressible star of “Truly, Madly” is back in business. This time, Lucy Valentine will go to the ends of the Earth to find true love for her clients . . . and maybe even herself.

At first, I didn’t think the second was as good as the first, but by time the ending came (which was way too quickly), I found that I did. the mystery was a bit deeper, and the love story was still there. I missed the match-making from the first book, but it ended with a bit of lovey gooey to keep me happy.

The third in the series is described:

After being “exposed” by a Boston Herald reporter, matchmaking agency owner Lucy Valentine, who has a unique ability, gets more clients than she can handle until she is upstaged by a mysterious masked man dubbed “The Lone Ranger.”

This one is also a winner. I probably should have put Webber in my paranormal category rather than as a Witchy Chick, but there is something about the hereditary quality of her power/s that suggests to be that it might be developed into a bit more than just a “gift” –she is making it the center of her world at this point.

Regardless, If you like “psychic” detectives (in cozies), you will like this series. Happy Reading!

1 Comment

Filed under Cozy Mystery, Reading for Fun

One response to “Heather Webber’s Cozies

  1. Broken record time..I keep meaning to read a book by this author and keep putting if off. I have A Hoe Lot of Trouble at Home, but this series has more of my interest since I love the paranormal aspect of it.

Leave a Reply

