Devil’s Food Cake Murder by Joanna Fluke

The most recent in the Hannah Swensen Mysteries was released recently. At one time, I would have been first in line to purchase another in this installment, loving the recipes, the mysteries, and learning about the cold northern state of Minnesota. However, the last few have seemed way too similar, way too same ole same ole, to justify that this time. In fact, I had tried several of the recipes for cookies and baked goods last winter, and we didn’t really like them (and I am a great cook / baker), and I was really tired of Hannah’s ambivalent feelings for Norman and Mike. So, I wasn’t in a hurry to buy this one. Nonetheless, it lured me in hopes of returning to the original spunk of this series and its protagonist, Hannah Swensen.

Product Description: These days, everyone in Lake Eden, Minnesota, is buzzing with activity, and Hannah Swensen is no exception. But no matter how busy she may be, Hannah can always find time to help a friend in need – especially when there’s a murder to investigate. A new minister is in town to cover for Reverend Bob Knudson, who’s honeymooning with Hannah’s good friend Claire. But when the replacement is found face down in a plate of devil’s food cake with a bullet in his head, Hannah starts asking questions. She soon discovers that the good Reverend wasn’t quite the saintly fellow he appeared to be. It will take some more digging to find the culprit, but Hannah is sure of one thing: even the most half-baked murder plot can be oh so deadly…

While I don’t think this one is good as the first five, it is much better than the most recent. I did figure out the “twist” with Norman way before it was revealed, but the hanging ending will keep me interested enough to purchase the next one. It also made me think this was not as “goody goody” as it had really become in the last few books, which certainly makes it more appealing to me as a reader. I didn’t learn as much about Minnesota as I have in past books, but I didn’t get bored. It was a fun, fast read.

Happy Reading!

3 Comments

Filed under Cozy Mystery, Reading for Fun

3 responses to “Devil’s Food Cake Murder by Joanna Fluke

  1. Holly

    I agree with you on this the last couple of books have been the same ole same ole and the whole thing with Norman and Mike was getting old but since the big reveal it made it interesting enough to make me wondering how its going to continue

  2. I still love this series but at the same time feel the same way. I just want her to make a decision about Mike and Norman..and I want it to be Norman since Mike seems to be too much of a player. haha! Hopefully the next one will be better.

Leave a Reply

